- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 14958Law 11 - Offside 3/8/2007RE: Select Under 14 Brian Sizemore of Smyrna, GA USA asks...Hi Ref,
In a recent scrimmage I saw a situation that I had never seen before. On a breakaway my 2 strikers have beaten an high offside trap and are running down field with only the keeper to beat. The keeper (a new and inexperienced player) charges out to meet them at about the 18. The one holding the ball passes him easily. After he has passed the keeper he passes the ball to the other striker - who b/c he didn't have to avoid the keeper is slightly ahead of him.
Is he in an offside position? The opposing coached said yes, and I, not wanting to argue, let it be.
Thanks in advance for your help.
Brian Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer Brian, information is lacking! Solving the equation is impossible without one important fact, where is the other player with regard to the ball? Nearer the goal line or not. That's way important!!!
Nearer=Offside
Not nearer or even=Sure goal
Regards,
Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer
View Referee Chuck Fleischer profileAnswer provided by Referee Keith Contarino Hi Brian! come visit me at Tramore some time. Well, obviously, the player receiving the ball is nearer the opponent's goal than the next to last opponent but is he nearer the goal line than the ball? If he's even with or behind the ball when it's passed, he's onside. If not, he's offside. Thanks for question.
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profileAnswer provided by Referee Gary Voshol The key to the question is in what you said, "is slightly ahead of him." Is him the keeper, or the teammate? If the teammate, does slightly ahead mean he's also ahead of the ball?
Remember there are 3 things in offside position, and all 3 must be true - in the attacking half, nearer the goal line than 2nd to last defender, and nearer the goal line than the ball. I suspect that because your player was called offside, the last condition was true, making all 3 of them true. So he was in an offside position, and because he played the ball, he was involved in play. Offside - based on the assumptions I made about what you wrote.
Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol
View Referee Gary Voshol profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 14958
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|