- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 14963Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 3/8/2007RE: school Under 14 Melissa Beach of Mobile, AL USA asks...Goalie stops attempted goal on the ground. Attacker continues to kick the ball several times while goalie is still on the ground with it. The ball comes loose and goes into the goal. Is this legal? The ref called it a goal Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer The referee can argue, convincingly, the sky is a pinkish purple too. He's wrong on both counts. Once the keeper has a hand on the ball it's off limits. Caution or send-off the attacker for his efforts.
Regards,
Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer
View Referee Chuck Fleischer profileAnswer provided by Referee Ben Mueller Nope. The whistle should have blown and he should have given at least an IFK to the keepers team. Keeper cannot be challenged with possession of ball. Also, a caution should have been considered in this case.
Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller
View Referee Ben Mueller profileAnswer provided by Referee Keith Contarino I assume the keeper stopped the ball with his hands? If so, this is a foul on the attacker. At least playing in a dangerous manner and, more likely, kicking or attempting to kick the keeper in a careless manner. A caution is also not unreasonable.
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profileAnswer provided by Referee Richard Dawson HI Melissa, if the ball is in actual contact with the arm/hand of a keeper he /she is considered in possession of that ball and the atttacker must not challenge. If the referee allowed that to occur that refere e requires further foul recognition training!
That said often a ball will be fumbled or rebound a bit away and that ball is in fact kickable by the striker to score a goal. It can look nasty but a ball that is mishandled or away from the hands and clearly not in posession even if 1/4 inch away it can be kicked. What is slightly unclear if a keeper is covering the ball but not with his hands as say under an outstretched lag that ball could be played CAREFULLY by an opponent but PIADM or kicking or attempt to kick could figure into the mix! Under no circumstances can one kick at the keeper to MAKE the ball pop free once the keeper does have posession! Cheers
Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson
View Referee Richard Dawson profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 14963
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|