Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 14963

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 3/8/2007

RE: school Under 14

Melissa Beach of Mobile, AL USA asks...

Goalie stops attempted goal on the ground. Attacker continues to kick the ball several times while goalie is still on the ground with it. The ball comes loose and goes into the goal. Is this legal? The ref called it a goal

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

The referee can argue, convincingly, the sky is a pinkish purple too. He's wrong on both counts. Once the keeper has a hand on the ball it's off limits. Caution or send-off the attacker for his efforts.

Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller

Nope. The whistle should have blown and he should have given at least an IFK to the keepers team. Keeper cannot be challenged with possession of ball. Also, a caution should have been considered in this case.



Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller

View Referee Ben Mueller profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

I assume the keeper stopped the ball with his hands? If so, this is a foul on the attacker. At least playing in a dangerous manner and, more likely, kicking or attempting to kick the keeper in a careless manner. A caution is also not unreasonable.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Melissa,
if the ball is in actual contact with the arm/hand of a keeper he /she is considered in possession of that ball and the atttacker must not challenge. If the referee allowed that to occur that refere e requires further foul recognition training!

That said often a ball will be fumbled or rebound a bit away and that ball is in fact kickable by the striker to score a goal. It can look nasty but a ball that is mishandled or away from the hands and clearly not in posession even if 1/4 inch away it can be kicked.
What is slightly unclear if a keeper is covering the ball but not with his hands as say under an outstretched lag that ball could be played CAREFULLY by an opponent but PIADM or kicking or attempt to kick could figure into the mix! Under no circumstances can one kick at the keeper to MAKE the ball pop free once the keeper does have posession!
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 14963
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>