Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 14966

Law 5 - The Referee 3/9/2007

RE: Rec - AYSO Under 15

Sparky Silling of Albuquerque, New Mexico USA asks...

In the USSF Advice to Referees, section 5.6, it talks about the 2-3 seconds while the ref is waiting to see if advantage develops after a foul. "If the ball goes out of play during this time, then play must be restarted in accordance with the Law." I assume they mean a throw-in, etc., as though the foul had not occurred.

Is this the right interpretation? If there is a foul, and the ball happens to go out of play immediately afterwards, it doesn't quite seem fair for the ref to ignore the foul simply because he/she was waiting for advantage to develop.

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

Sparky I read you asking: Is the policy of US Soccer, as stated in ATR 5.6, correct? Is that a correct read?

If so, then the answer is yes, the policy of US Soccer, as stated in their publications, is what they want their referees to adhere to. So if you play advantage and the ball leaves the park you just lost the ability to take the free kick. If you are thinking you see a foul and the time lag between your thought and the whistle sounding allows the ball to leave the park we have a whole different story. Howcum? You stopped things in your mind! Then you told everyone what you did. Play stops when your head tells you; not when your whistle tells them.

Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 14966
Read other Q & A regarding Law 5 - The Referee

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>