- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 14968Law 14 - Penalty kick 3/10/2007RE: Adult d frampton of durham, england asks...Is a player taking a penalty kick allowed to stop his run up to confuse the goalkeeper and then continue to take the kick and score? Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino The player is allowed to feint. What this means is different to every referee. Personally, I'd allow the stopping and starting but other referees would not.
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profileAnswer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer FIFA's Q&A answers your question thusly:
Law 14 #13. A player taking a penalty kick feints before kicking the ball. Is this permitted?
Yes.
Regards,
Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer
View Referee Chuck Fleischer profileAnswer provided by Referee Richard Dawson Hi Frampton, as mentioned FIFA Q&A states feinting is permissable! What acts constitute feinting and what acts go beyond the allowed gamesmenship of that act?
Within the laws of the game FIFA states 'A player taking a penalty kick may try to deceive the goalkeeper as to his intentions and such action is allowed. This is quite different from trickery, when the player stops his kicking action in order to make the goalkeeper move in one direction and then kicks it to the other. This is quite contrary to the spirit of the Laws and the player at fault should be cautioned for unsporting behaviour and the kick retaken if a goal has resulted. If the ball does not enter the goal, the referee stops play and restarts the match with an indirect free kick to the defending team from the place where the infringement occurred.'
The ussf position to further clarify the details stated there were four areas where misconduct could overstep the boundries of good taste all are extreme or excessive in nature - he delays the pk after being signaled by the referee to proceed - he runs past the ball and then backs up to take the kick, - he excessively changes direction during the run to the ball, or - he makes any motion of the hand or arm which is clearly intended to misdirect the attention of the goalkeeper. In such cases, the referee could suspend the procedure, caution the player involved, and then signal once again for the kick to be taken. If the kick has already been taken, the referee should order it retaken only if the ball enters the goal. The player must still be cautioned for his misconduct regardless of the outcome. If the kick is not to be retaken (see above), the game is restarted with an indirect free kick for the defending team where Law 14 was violated.
I have no issue with the stutter step as long as it is not excessive. Cheers
Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson
View Referee Richard Dawson profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 14968
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - Penalty kick The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...See Question: 15036
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|