- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 14972Law 11 - Offside 3/10/2007RE: State Cup Adult Ref/Player99 of San Antonio, TX USA asks...This is an offside question:
Defender A is standing up to Attacker A while Attacker B is in an offside position. Attacker A passes the ball to Attacker B but as the pass leaves the feet of Attacker B. Defender A sticks his foot out to try and stop the ball; the ball brushes the bottom of the cleat of Defender A. The ball continues on its path and goes to Attacker B who is still in an offside position.
Should Attacker B be flagged for being offisde?
Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer Yes this has been so since 1974. If you are a referee this is common knowledge, or should be...
Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer
View Referee Chuck Fleischer profileAnswer provided by Referee Keith Contarino A mere deflection of the ball by an opponent does NOT reset offside. Attacker B, if he plays the ball or otherwise interferes with play, is flagged for an offside offence.
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profileAnswer provided by Referee Ben Mueller A deflection does not offset the offside. Only if the defender would have established control would the offside have been reset.
Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller
View Referee Ben Mueller profileAnswer provided by Referee MrRef By saying the word "reset" when referring to offside we mean offside positions must be reevaluated at each touch of the ball by the attack...
Read other questions answered by Referee MrRef
View Referee MrRef profileAnswer provided by Referee Richard Dawson Yes, note point 3 of Decision 2 law 11 OFFSIDE
The definitions of elements of involvement in active play are as follows: Gaining an advantage by being in that position means playing a ball that rebounds to him off a post or the crossbar having been in an offside position or playing a ball that ((((rebounds to him off an opponent)))) having been in an offside position. Cheers
Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson
View Referee Richard Dawson profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 14972
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|