- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 14978Law 11 - Offside 3/12/2007RE: rec Adult Luis of Santa Rosa, CA USA asks...In a recent game, a defender from the opposite team passed the ball back to his goalie without noticing that an offensive player from the other team was between him and the goalie. The defender was the last player. The offensive player took the ball and scored.
Does a player in the "offsite" position become eligible when the ball is passed or touched by a defender from the opposite team? Just wondering. Thank you. Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson Hi Luis, a defender's mistake is not forgiven just because an opponent is offside positioned. A deflection might be, (a deflection of the ball off an opponent will not reset or change offside criteria) but a controled posession of the ball as in your case was a gift, the offside positioned attacker should say thank you. The key in this is two fold, First it is NOT an offence to be offside positioned Second the ball was NOT last touched by a teammate Just a minor point, the defender who screwed up was in fact the second last opponent (player) the keeper was the last opponent(player) in this situation. I also suggest you read Ref Fleischer's offside article on our website. Offside is easy if we do not make it hard! Cheers
Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson
View Referee Richard Dawson profileAnswer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer The solution here is to know when to check for players in offside positions. That time is at the touch of a colleague, any player in an offside position can't be involved until something changes. When an opponent is the one to control and play the ball all offside restrictions are forgiven and offside positioned players are free to accept gifts presented.
Regards,
Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer
View Referee Chuck Fleischer profileAnswer provided by Referee Ben Mueller No because the pass did not come from a teammate. The defender established control and passed it to his opponent.
Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller
View Referee Ben Mueller profileAnswer provided by Referee Keith Contarino Offside is ONLY judged when the ball is played or touched by a TEAMMATE. Once the ball has been played by a teammate, the opponents must control the ball to reset offside. In your example, the opponents clearly controlled the ball so no offside
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 14978
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|