Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 14979

League Specific 3/12/2007

RE: All levels High School

Michael of Centennial, CO USA asks...

Play is stopped to issue a card, off the field, to an assistant coach. At the time of the stoppage, no ball possession could be determined.

What is the proper restart? Where is the restart?

Thanks, Mike

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

The proper restart is Indirect Free Kick to the nonoffending team. [Rule 12.8.1.a thru g] The spot of the restart where the ball WAS when the referee stopped play [Rule 13.2.2.c]

NOTE: this applies to USA High School ONLY... If you let things go until the ball is very close to his goal you can make the punishment for his actions even better!!

Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

According to FIFA law, if you stop play soley to deal with an outside influence while the ball is in play, as it is a non player/sub, the drop ball at where the ball was on the field at the time of the stoppage would fit the restart bill.
I was unsure, as we do not show cards in my area to coaching or technical staff perhaps the USA Highschool Soccer Federation has an INDFK restart from where the ball was since one of the team personal is being shown the card? ooops I posted just after Ref Fleischer looks like they do have a different retart.
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller

In high school, the restart is IFK where ball was when referee stopped play to the non-offending team. In USSF...no cards can be shown to coaches, but if the referee stops play to discipline a coach restart would be drop ball. Another difference between high school and USSF.



Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller

View Referee Ben Mueller profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 14979
Read other Q & A regarding League Specific

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>