Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 14980

Law 11 - Offside 3/12/2007

RE: Rec/ follow FIFA rules Under 10

Jeannie of Park Ridge, NJ USA asks...

Can a player from the offense stand directly in front of the goal and go into the goal net if he does not have the ball?

Can players stand in front of the goalie when they don't have the ball, in an effort to block the goalie's view of the ball?

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

A player may stand directly in front of the goal, but if he's in an offside position he'd better not become involved in play. Players generally do not go into the area surrounded by the net, except if their momentum carries them there for a short period of time.

If the player stands in front of the goalkeeper to block his view, and is in an offside position, he has interfered with an opponent and the offside call would be made. If that is not an offside position (because of other defenders) he might be judged to be guilty of impeding the goalkeeper, particularly if he moves to stay in front as the keeper moves. Either offense is punished with an indirect free kick to the keeper's team.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

Any player may stand anywhere on the field he or she likes. As Ref Voshol points out, doing so if in offside position can result in an infraction. A player that moves with the keeper in an attempt to block the keeper's view is likely going to be guilty of impeding the progress of an opponent if the ball is in play or unsporting behavior if the ball is out of play.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 14980
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>