Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 14982

Law 14 - Penalty kick 3/13/2007

RE: Under 12

Muzzr of Wellington, New Zealand asks...

The player taking the PK runs in to take the kick, but balks at the last second, because the keeper has corectly picked the direction, and moves along the line in that direction, and would almost certainly stop the kick.
It is probably a caution for unsporting behavour, but does he get to take the kick again?

Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller

The referee has signaled. Law 14 clearly states that if the referee signals and a team infringes, the kick proceeds and the referee takes an action based on the outcome of the kick. If the kicker misses, IFK at the spot of the infringement. If the kicker scores, then the kick is retaken.



Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller

View Referee Ben Mueller profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

Why do you think this is misconduct?
From Law 14 2006 Q&A
A player taking a penalty kick feints before kicking the ball. Is this
permitted?
Yes.
If the referee thinks this is a feint, there is no misconduct



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

Would you intervene on any other free kick and caution the taker? A penalty is a free kick and this is why FIFA have answered the question the way they did.



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 14982
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - Penalty kick

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>