- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 14983Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 3/13/2007RE: competitive Under 16 Andy Smith of livingston, west lothian scotland asks...if team A are winning 5-0 and have another attack in which they have a shot that has beaten the keeper but one of the defenders punches the ball off of the goal line. what card would you give him? Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson As unfortunate as the score is, the defender is sent off and shown the red card if he denied a goal by the deliberate handling action.
If you are comparing our #4 you call it? The denial of a goal is considered heinous where a trivial excursion at the opposing end of the field is hardly considered at all! The punishment befits the crime The defender is not sent off for the DFK penal foul (now a PK since inside the PA) but the unfair and unconscionable action of cheating the opposing team a goal! Cheers
Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson
View Referee Richard Dawson profileAnswer provided by Referee Keith Contarino Doesn't matter what the score is. This seems to be a clear case of denying a goal scoring opportunity by deliberately handling the ball. The defender is sent off and shown the red card. Restart with a penalty kick as this appears to occur inside the penalty area.
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profileAnswer provided by Referee Ben Mueller Yes, by the letter of the law you must. There are no choices here and the LOTG do not allow an exception for the score.
Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller
View Referee Ben Mueller profileAnswer provided by Referee Gary Voshol Sometimes no matter how much you want it, you can't protect players from their frustration or stupidity.
If the ball was headed toward goal, it was a case of a goal being denied, and the player must be sent off. If it was in the penalty area, the restart must be a penalty kick.
Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol
View Referee Gary Voshol profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 14983
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...See Question: 14997
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|