Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 14983

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 3/13/2007

RE: competitive Under 16

Andy Smith of livingston, west lothian scotland asks...

if team A are winning 5-0 and have another attack in which they have a shot that has beaten the keeper but one of the defenders punches the ball off of the goal line. what card would you give him?

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

As unfortunate as the score is, the defender is sent off and shown the red card if he denied a goal by the deliberate handling action.

If you are comparing our #4 you call it?
The denial of a goal is considered heinous where a trivial excursion at the opposing end of the field is hardly considered at all!
The punishment befits the crime
The defender is not sent off for the DFK penal foul (now a PK since inside the PA) but the unfair and unconscionable action of cheating the opposing team a goal!
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

Doesn't matter what the score is. This seems to be a clear case of denying a goal scoring opportunity by deliberately handling the ball. The defender is sent off and shown the red card. Restart with a penalty kick as this appears to occur inside the penalty area.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller

Yes, by the letter of the law you must. There are no choices here and the LOTG do not allow an exception for the score.



Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller

View Referee Ben Mueller profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

Sometimes no matter how much you want it, you can't protect players from their frustration or stupidity.

If the ball was headed toward goal, it was a case of a goal being denied, and the player must be sent off. If it was in the penalty area, the restart must be a penalty kick.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 14983
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 14997

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>