Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 15001

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 3/18/2007

RE: National Professional

Muhammad Afzal of Quetta, Pakistan asks...

This question is a follow up to question 2007

Dear Sir,

I have one question, I hope you will understand and help me.

1. If you remember, few days before one the best final match was played between Chelsea VS Arsenal. In the match I have noted some things of the referee decision, I need this clear with you so i hope you will help me.

In the second half, John Terry, the Chelsea and England defender and Captian came up for an Arjan Robben corner, Unfortunately the only thing that made contact with his head was the boot of Diaby as he tried to clear the ball.

Sir, Please I would like to know this was penalty kick or not?

2. Same in this match between Chelsea VS Arsenal, Tech line Arsenal player kick pass to own player and was gone out of techline so at the moment the Chelsea player kick from back out of throw line, so i saw referee kick whistle and granted free kick to Arsenal team, If this situation was done in Penalty area so then was referee award penalty kick to Arsenal team?

Please I am waiting for your kindest and soonest response.

Thank you and Have a nice day!



2.

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

It is entirely possible to see this incident as a PK and conclude that the kick to the head was reckless ! The interesting thing about opinions it is the perspective of the individual based on what he saw from where he was and applying the laws to meet the decision arrived at!

I rarely second guess a professional referee only meters from the incident while I play rewind slow motion from my comfortable armchair! Although it was a terrible looking incident the referee was of the opinion it was accidental in nature in that both players were challenging for a free ball. You might note the reaction from the coach and players there was an initial appeal for the Pk at first . However, the incident was so serious as to the concern of the player the PK request by the players kind of faded away and the depth of the compassion and worry on the Arsneal players Diaby's face was evident it was unintended

There is room to speculate that PIADM by raising a foot to chest height or dipping a head down to chest height forms could be seen in such encounters if there was no physical contact and either player had pulled out of the challenge. In my opinion both players had every right to play that ball the way they did and can not see PIADM by Terry or Diaby as they appeared to be unaware of the other.

Soccer is a contact sport and collisions will occur where fault is not determinable. I have seen similar incidents involving a diving keeper and a striker trying to beat each other to a free ball as foot and body arrive to that ball at the same time and the challenge momentum once initiated is hard to pull out of!

I can not be sure what incident you are referring to in your 2nd point? Was an Arsenal player DFK fouled by a Chelsea player outside the boundary lines in touch? If the DFK foul is completely outside the boundary lines the restart is in fact a drop ball as it is misconduct! If they are only partly out the referee might see the foul as on the boundry line in which case a PK if on the PA boundry line area?
Sorry I cannot be sure what you are asking here?
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 15001
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>