- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 15004Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 3/18/2007RE: Premier Soccer Club Under 17 Gerry of Kaneohe, Hawaii USA asks...The ball is kicked in the air. The defensive persons is directly behind the offensive person and he is about a foot taller. As the ball comes down, they both jump in the air to try and head the ball. The defense goes over the back and head of the offense and heads the ball. Would this be consider a foul? Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson Hi Gerry, not unless he used his arms to hold or push or went running into that opponent from the rear. Can not punish a player for being taller or jumping higher! Cheers
Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson
View Referee Richard Dawson profileAnswer provided by Referee Ben Mueller I agree with Ref Dawson. Only if the taller player used his hands or body to unfairly challenge the ball. Just because he is taller does not mean we favor the shorter player.
Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller
View Referee Ben Mueller profileAnswer provided by Referee Gary Voshol If by "over the back and head" of the opponent you mean the defender was occupying space above his opponent, and then would crash down on top of him, it clearly would be a foul. If he was simply able to jump higher and safely play the ball, I agree with my colleagues, it's not a foul. In fact, it's pretty good defense!
Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol
View Referee Gary Voshol profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 15004
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|