Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 15006

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 3/18/2007

RE: Competitive Adult

Todd of Dallas, Texas USA asks...

A ball is received by the keeper outside of his/her penalty area from a) a teammate b) the opposing team. The keeper then proceeds to dribble into the penalty area so he/she can pick up the ball. Can you confirm the restart for a) is an IDFK from the point which the keeper picks up the ball? and play continues for b).

Thanks,

Todd

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Todd,
in point of fact the keeper is permitted to do both
he can recieve the ball from ANY opponent while outside his area and dribble the ball back inside and then use his hands.
he can also recieve a ball from his teammates if that ball was deflected off ANY playable body part or
passed to him with any playable body part (head, chest ect..while outside his area and dribble the ball back inside and then use his hands
EXCEPT
a deliberate kick by a teammate to his keeper
(this does NOT include a deflection of the ball off the foot)
or
a direct throw in by a teammate to his keeper
these two exceptions will result in a indfk from where in the penalty area the hands are eventually used on the ball subject to law 8 special circumstances in the goal area

Remember the keeper has NOT committed any infringement for dribbiling the ball back into his area no matter which team got him the ball or where abouts on the field he 1st retrieved it! AS long as there are no handling restrictions in effect.
The ball can be passed by a teammate and then subsequently handled by the keeper if the teammate used head or chest to direct the ball to his keeper no matter where abouts on the field he 1st retrieved it!

Outside his penalty area the keeper is but another player and ANY deliberate handling is a DFK offence which occurs outside the PA from the spot itoccurs at! A keeper is NEVER guilty of a DFK for deliberate handling inside his own penalty area so no PK for a handling infraction can ever be awarded only an indfk!

Note law 12 Fouls and Misconduct
An indirect free kick is awarded to the opposing team if a goalkeeper, inside his own penalty area, commits any of the following four offences:

takes more than six seconds while controlling the ball with his hands before releasing it from his possession

touches the ball again with his hands after it has been released from his possession and has not touched any other player

touches the ball with his hands after it has been deliberately kicked to him by a team-mate

touches the ball with his hands after he has received it directly from a throw-in taken by a team-mate.

Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller

If the keepers teammate did not deliberatly kick the ball to keeper, then there is no foul. If the pass was deliberate with the teammates foot, then the restart is an IFK. If the pass came from an opponent, then there is no way there can be a foul here.



Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller

View Referee Ben Mueller profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 15006
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>