- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 15007Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 3/18/2007RE: Rec Under 11 Scott Slaughter of Conyers, Georgia USA asks...The keeper miskicks a punt, but rather than picking up the ball they just go ahead and play it out with their feet. The ref called a foul and awarded a IDFK. I know it would have been a foul if the keeper picked up the ball, but the ref said it had to touch another player before the keeper touched it again. Is this correct? Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson H Scott, You are correct if a keeper was to use his hands on the ball inside his own penalty area AFTER he had releaesed it into play the INDFK is for illegal use of hands. The keeper is not restricted from using his feet or other body parts from continuing to play the ball.
The referee has erred forgetting that the two touch restriction only applies to a free kick like a goal kick restart not a punt out in live play.
It is likely the referee is as new to the game as the players playing so try to get the information to the referee by informing his mentors or league contacts so education can begin! Cheers
Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson
View Referee Richard Dawson profileAnswer provided by Referee Ben Mueller That was the wrong call. The keeper can still kick the ball or play the ball with any part of his body except for the hands.
Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller
View Referee Ben Mueller profileAnswer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer Both colleagues discuss this decision is incorrect. It is. BUT, that's the "match condition" for the day. You must teach your players to adapt to incorrect decisions during a match. If they know the Law and the referee doesn't their telling him is only going to irritate him. This is not a good thing.
An irritated referee who doesn't know the Laws of the Game is an irritated referee who is going to make something up and that's never a good thing.
Regards,
Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer
View Referee Chuck Fleischer profileAnswer provided by Referee Gary Voshol I nearly made the same mistake early in my career. Fortunately I elected to warn the U10 keeper, rather than stopping play for a non-existant foul. If somewhere there's a HS-age goalkeeper who is afraid to kick the ball after flubbing a punt, I apologize to her for my misinformation.
Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol
View Referee Gary Voshol profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 15007
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|