Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 15007

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 3/18/2007

RE: Rec Under 11

Scott Slaughter of Conyers, Georgia USA asks...

The keeper miskicks a punt, but rather than picking up the ball they just go ahead and play it out with their feet. The ref called a foul and awarded a IDFK. I know it would have been a foul if the keeper picked up the ball, but the ref said it had to touch another player before the keeper touched it again. Is this correct?

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

H Scott,
You are correct if a keeper was to use his hands on the ball inside his own penalty area AFTER he had releaesed it into play the INDFK is for illegal use of hands. The keeper is not restricted from using his feet or other body parts from continuing to play the ball.

The referee has erred forgetting that the two touch restriction only applies to a free kick like a goal kick restart not a punt out in live play.

It is likely the referee is as new to the game as the players playing so try to get the information to the referee by informing his mentors or league contacts so education can begin!
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller

That was the wrong call. The keeper can still kick the ball or play the ball with any part of his body except for the hands.



Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller

View Referee Ben Mueller profile

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

Both colleagues discuss this decision is incorrect. It is. BUT, that's the "match condition" for the day. You must teach your players to adapt to incorrect decisions during a match. If they know the Law and the referee doesn't their telling him is only going to irritate him. This is not a good thing.

An irritated referee who doesn't know the Laws of the Game is an irritated referee who is going to make something up and that's never a good thing.

Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

I nearly made the same mistake early in my career. Fortunately I elected to warn the U10 keeper, rather than stopping play for a non-existant foul. If somewhere there's a HS-age goalkeeper who is afraid to kick the ball after flubbing a punt, I apologize to her for my misinformation.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 15007
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>