- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 15012Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 3/19/2007RE: Rec Adult Steven of Wylie, TX USA asks...What's the correct call? Defensive player kicks the ball to space outside the PA, where the keeper retrieves with their feet, and proceeds to dribble into the PA a good 10 yards, when an attacker moves into the PA to challenge the keeper, the keeper picks up the ball to punt it away.
A) Allow play to continue B) Stop Play and award a IDFK at the point where the ball is picked up C) Stop play and award a IDFK at the point the keeper originally received the ball D) Some things else, please explain.
Thanks Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer Steve all the referee need know is did the colleague deliberately kick the ball and did the goalkeeper use his hands. If he did it is indirect from the point of the infraction, where the keeper used his hands. It's that simple. Regardless what television commentators and coaches say...
Regards,
Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer
View Referee Chuck Fleischer profileAnswer provided by Referee Keith Contarino Easy question. A teammate deliberately kicked the ball to an area where the keeper could collect it. From that point on, the keeper may not handle the ball until it touches another player or goes out of play. The keeper handled the ball. IFK to opponents at the spot he handled it subject to Special Circumstances in Law 8.
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profileAnswer provided by Referee Nathan Lacy IFK awarded as a result of the keeper playing the ball with their hands after having been deliberately kicked by a teammate. All the best,
Read other questions answered by Referee Nathan Lacy
View Referee Nathan Lacy profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 15012
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...See Question: 15023
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|