Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 15012

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 3/19/2007

RE: Rec Adult

Steven of Wylie, TX USA asks...

What's the correct call?
Defensive player kicks the ball to space outside the PA, where the keeper retrieves with their feet, and proceeds to dribble into the PA a good 10 yards, when an attacker moves into the PA to challenge the keeper, the keeper picks up the ball to punt it away.

A) Allow play to continue
B) Stop Play and award a IDFK at the point where the ball is picked up
C) Stop play and award a IDFK at the point the keeper originally received the ball
D) Some things else, please explain.

Thanks

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

Steve all the referee need know is did the colleague deliberately kick the ball and did the goalkeeper use his hands. If he did it is indirect from the point of the infraction, where the keeper used his hands. It's that simple. Regardless what television commentators and coaches say...

Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

Easy question. A teammate deliberately kicked the ball to an area where the keeper could collect it. From that point on, the keeper may not handle the ball until it touches another player or goes out of play. The keeper handled the ball. IFK to opponents at the spot he handled it subject to Special Circumstances in Law 8.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Nathan Lacy

IFK awarded as a result of the keeper playing the ball with their hands after having been deliberately kicked by a teammate. All the best,



Read other questions answered by Referee Nathan Lacy

View Referee Nathan Lacy profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 15012
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 15023

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>