- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 15024Law 14 - Penalty kick 3/22/2007RE: Competive Tim Fauber of Rockville, md usa asks...This question is a follow up to question 15010 There is a difference between a feint and stopping and restarting. A feint is done as part of the motion of approaching the ball to kick it and would involve some hesatiation or deception. A player stopping his motion then restarting to simply decern the direction the keeper moves could be construed as much more then a feint and I would caution for being guilty of unsporting behaviour. It becomes a judgement call. Is it a faint or is the shooter being unsporting? My barometer is if the kicker come to complet halt or backs up then he has gone beyond a feint. The PK is still taken. Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller This is the referees discretion. If the referee deemed as an infraction, it would be written up as unsporting behavior in the match report. Players are allowed to feint on a PK, but may not unessarly delay the match by stepping over the ball or running back.
Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller
View Referee Ben Mueller profileAnswer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer Tim, we appreciate your opinion as to what constitutes a feint at the taking of a penalty kick. My opinion is if the kicker passes the ball and comes back to take the kick I'll put a halt to things straightaway.
I believe if the kicker takes two steps on his run up and stops cold, watches the keeper commit to his left, then stuffs the ball to the keeper's right we have a goal. I also believe that the word STOP in the centre of a red and white octagonal traffic sign means all motion ceases before entering the intersection. On the football pitch I'm there to, first and foremost, enforce the Laws of the Game. A penalty kick is a free kick, abet with special considerations. If I have a properly identified penalty taker, ensured Law 14 has been complied with and I have signalled to take the kick he is free to take his free kick in any manner he chooses EXCEPT running past the ball and returning to kick it.
Regards,
Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer
View Referee Chuck Fleischer profileAnswer provided by Referee Keith Contarino Feinting, like beauty, is clearly in the eye of the beholder
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 15024
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - Penalty kick
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|