Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 15025

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 3/22/2007

RE: Rec Adult

Drew Siverling of Camp Hill, Pennsylvania USA asks...

At what point does a goalie have control of a ball? For example the ball is rolling towards the goal, the goalie dives, gets a hand on top of the ball which is then kicked by an offensive player into the goal.

Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller

1 finger between the ball and the ground is considered possession. A ball bouncing off the keepers fingertips is NOT considered to be possession of the ball.



Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller

View Referee Ben Mueller profile

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

The answer to your question is found in Law 12, Decision of the IFAB #2: The goalkeeper is considered to be in control of the ball by touching it with any part of his hand or arms. Possession of the ball includes the goalkeeper deliberately parrying the ball, but does not include the circumstances where, in the opinion of the referee, the ball rebounds accidentally from the goalkeeper, for example after he has made a save.

Clearly, in your case there can be no goal because once the keeper has possession his opponents MUST allow him to release it from his hands. They may not play in a dangerous manner nor kick or attempt to kick the keeper.

Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Debbie Hoelscher

Pinky finger nail works.



Read other questions answered by Referee Debbie Hoelscher

View Referee Debbie Hoelscher profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 15025
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>