Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 15028

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 3/22/2007

RE: Select Under 15

Nick of Bethesda, Maryland USA asks...

This question is a follow up to question 14899

I'm still a bit unclear on your responses to # 14899. Assume a defender, with no one behind him other than the keeper, kicks the ball backwards into the area between the side of the penalty area and the touch line. If the keeper collects the ball and dribbles into the penalty area, may he then legally pick it up?
What if a throw-in by a teammate into the same area between the penalty area and the touch line, with no other field players around, is collected by the keeper and dribbled into the area. May he then legally pick it up?
Thanks.

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

I'll be concise
1. NO. 2. NO.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

Coach it is contrary to the Laws of the Game for the goalkeeper to handle a ball deliberately kicked to him by a team mate and it is contrary to the Laws of the Game for the goalkeeper to handle a ball he receives directly from a throw-in by a team mate.

I'm sorry if we were not clear on this, we can only relate what the Law states.

We can also say these things were instituted into Football, they prevent time wasting by teams with one goal leads in the closing minutes of a match.

This is a sky being blue or a 1+1=2 kind of thing, one doesn't have to know why one just believe...



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller

First if it is a throwin and the keeper handles the ball in penalty area before any player touches the ball, it MUST BE AN IFK for opponents. This is per the Laws of the Game. If it is a pass from a teammate, that pass must be from the foot and also kicked to the keeper deliberatly. If the referee is of the opinion that it was kicked deliberatly, then it is a IFK if keeper handles the ball.



Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller

View Referee Ben Mueller profile

Answer provided by Referee Debbie Hoelscher

To answer both questions simply, no.

In reference the way the original question was asked: "Can you please tell me whether it is legal to pass the ball back to the goalkeeper during normal play after it was last played by an opponent or one of your team mates. " The answer to that question is yes....it IS legal to pass the ball back to your own keeper. There is no ruling on this in FIFA or the IFAB Decisions or US Soccer simply because there is no infringment. The infringement to the LOTG occurs when the goal keeper chooses to use his priviledge of using his hands in his own penalty once a ball has been DELIBERATELY passed to him [or to an area that he can get] by a teammate.



Read other questions answered by Referee Debbie Hoelscher

View Referee Debbie Hoelscher profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 15028
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>