- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 15030Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 3/23/2007RE: Rec/Comp Adult Chris Giebner of Tampa, FL USA asks...A ball is deliberatily kicked back (or thrown-in) from a defender to his keeper in the box. The keeper uses his foot to flick it to has head and then heads it into his hands. Illegal, right? Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson YES illegal INDFK out if inside his PA a DFK if out side his PA! Nothing changes from the fact he received the ball DIRECTLY from a throw in or deliberately kicked to him by a teammate, what he chooses to do to juggle the ball is fine until he decides to use his hands! Cheers
Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson
View Referee Richard Dawson profileAnswer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer Yes, contrary to the Laws. Been that way [the kick to] since 1993. From a throw-in entered the Law in 1997.
Regards,
Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer
View Referee Chuck Fleischer profileAnswer provided by Referee Debbie Hoelscher Yes. Not only an infringement, but possibly misconduct for unsporting behavior -- trying to circumvent the laws of the game. As Ref Dawson points out, he can juggle to his heart's content, but may not use his hands to control the ball once he's received directly from his teammate.
Read other questions answered by Referee Debbie Hoelscher
View Referee Debbie Hoelscher profileAnswer provided by Referee Ben Mueller Absolutly! He has touched ball with hands before it has touched another player.
Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller
View Referee Ben Mueller profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 15030
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|