- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 15039Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 3/24/2007RE: competitive Under 16 chris kelly of rumson, nj usa asks...are there any circumstances where a player can play the ball while laying on the ground? or is it ALWAYS ruled dangerous play? Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson Hi Chris, A player on the ground is NOT forbidden to play the ball!
It is a MYTH that a player cannot play the ball while on the ground!!
It is NOT PIADM just because the player is on the ground.
It COULD be PIADM but certainly not always!
As a player I have scored several goals while on the ground in attack as well as defended by shielding the ball from opponents while on the ground, all perfectly legal. What happens when a player is on the ground within playing distance can shield that ball from an opponent by being reasonable in how that ball is played or defended. If I was knocked down or fell on the ball while I must get off that ball I do not have to expose that ball to my opponent. I can shield it as I try and play it! Mind you I can not just lay on top of the ball, in law I must play it within a reasonable time. If I lay my face near the ball or surrounded it with my arms in hopes of deterring an opponent from kicking the ball for fear of kicking my face or arms then a referee could award an INDFK against me for PIADM as I endangered myself at my opponent's expense by unfairly playing that ball.
I want to point out that EVEN if a player on the ground is in fact PIADM an opponent can not kick away free and clear as it is a DFK offence to do so against that player rather than the INDFK for him if he held off. That is why a referee must be quick to whistle for the PIADM Infringement if it IS in effect rather than wait until an opponent gets frustrated and tries to kick away! We need to get a good view of just what is actually going on by proper positioning in such cases. There should be NO contact in PIADM or in impeding. Contact takes those two INDFK infringements and turns them into DFK fouls of kicking or attempt to kick or holding!
It takes a bit of discretion and foul recognition to differentiate between a legal shield and an unsafe act by a player on the ground playing the ball but it is NOT a crime in its self to play the ball on the ground ever! Cheers
Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson
View Referee Richard Dawson profileAnswer provided by Referee Keith Contarino A player is free to play the ball while laying on the ground. There is no foul called "playing the ball while laying on the ground" although many persons, including referees, think there is. Remember, a FOUL MUST INVOLVE AN ACTION AGAINST AN OPONENT. Playing in a dangerous manner is such a foul. In order for this to occur, the action must contain 3 things; 1. The action must be dangerous even if just to the player performing it, 2. An OPPONENT must be nearby, and, 3. An OPPONENT must somehow be disadvantaged by the action. If a player plays the ball while laying on the ground ( or for that matter a high kick or bicycle kick) and all 3 requirements are not met, than there is no foul. If all 3 exist, the action is punished by the award of an IFK to the opponent. Take home point: you cannot foul a teammate
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profileAnswer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer Any player can play whilst on the ground at any time UNTIL he creates a danger to himself or another player. Whoever came up with "You Can't Play On The Ground" simply doesn't understand this Game.
Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer
View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 15039
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|