Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 15045

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 3/26/2007

RE: Recreational Under 15

Tom of Long Island, New York USA asks...

I have a question about the goal keeper handling a ball. If an attacker kicks the ball at the goal and the keeper catches the ball within the Goal Area and instead of kicking it out right away he dribbles the ball forward towards the goal line is he allowed to then pick up the ball (still within the goal area) and kick it out?

Answer provided by Referee Debbie Hoelscher

No. He caught it -- that's fine. Then he released it from his hands to his feet. Once he releases the ball from his hands, he may no longer pick it up again until it has been touched by another player (and obviously not from a pass kicked to him by a teammate).



Read other questions answered by Referee Debbie Hoelscher

View Referee Debbie Hoelscher profile

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

Once a keeper handles the ball he must release it into play within six seconds. When he releases if from his hands he may not use his hands to play the ball until it has been touched by another player whether he in in or outside his own penalty area.

Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller

If the keeper released it from his possession, then he must wait until a player touches ball before he can touch ball with hands again.



Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller

View Referee Ben Mueller profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

If he caught it with his hands, then releases it, he may not handle it again until it has touched another player. Of course, if a teammate deliberately kicks the ball to him, he may not handle it.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 15045
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>