- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 15050Law 11 - Offside 3/26/2007RE: Junior Varsity Under 15 Brent Aldridge of Hardy, VA U.S. asks...Today in my soccer game the opposing team had a break-away. The leading attacker was tackled by our sweeper just infront of the goal. He fell into an offside position. The ball rolled back to a trailing attacker who then shot it. Our kepper blocked the shot but it came out to the other attacker who had fallen into the offside position. He the proceeded to get up and kick the ball into the goal. The center ref called it a goal and we argued to the AR that he was offside, but he told us that since it had come off of the keeper he was not offside. Was the attacker offside or did he really score a goal? Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller If the attcker that scored was in an offside position at the moment his teammate shot the ball, then he should have been penalized for being offside.
Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller
View Referee Ben Mueller profileAnswer provided by Referee Gary Voshol We first have to assume that the tackle which caused the attacker to fall down was a legal challenge, not a foul. Given that, the player is now in an offside position when his teammate plays the ball. He becomes involved in play because he gained an advantage by being in that position. "Gaining advantage" has a very narrow definition, which this player met. Decision 2 of Law 11 says, "Gaining an advantage by being in that position means playing a ball that rebounds to him off a post or the crossbar having been in an offside position or playing a ball that rebounds to him off an opponent having been in an offside position."
Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol
View Referee Gary Voshol profileAnswer provided by Referee Keith Contarino The AR is incorrect. If the ball was saved but not controlled by the keeper, than the player in offside position was NOT allowed to participate in play. Unfortunately, far too many referees believe that an opponent merely has to come into contact with the ball to reset offside.
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profileAnswer provided by Referee Richard Dawson Hi Brent , certainly do not like that explanation, a ball rebounding off a keeper is not a controlled possession ! If there was an offside attacker at the time of that shot and he played that deflection he is quilty of gaining an advantage INDFK out. Law 11 Gaining an advantage by being in that position means playing a ball that rebounds to him off a post or the crossbar having been in an offside position or playing a ball that rebounds to him off an opponent having been in an offside position. Cheers
Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson
View Referee Richard Dawson profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 15050
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...See Question: 15068
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|