- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 15056Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 3/28/2007RE: Rec Under 18 Andrew of Canberra, Australia asks...An attacker strikes a defender just outside the penalty area. The referee does not see it but the AR does and raises the flag. The referee does not see the raised flag and the ball is cleared up field and play continues. While the ball is still in play the referee at last sees that the AR flag is raised. The AR also signals that he wants to talk to the ref. The ref blows the whistle to stop play and goes over to the AR to see what he wants. After their discussion he sends off the attacker for violent behaviour on the advice of the AR.
My question is what and where is the restart and where do I find this in law?
Is it dropped ball from where ball was when play was stopped or indirect free kick from place of incident or direct free kick from place of incident.
Ref gave indirect free kick from place of incident.
Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol See Law 12. Striking is a direct free kick foul. In this case it also happened to be misconduct - but it is still a foul. The restart should have been a DFK from where the striking occurred. The IFK restart for misconduct applies only when it is purely misconduct, with no foul involved.
If there was no misconduct involved - if it was only a simple foul - the AR could lower his flag once the ball was cleared out and let play continue. The way the ball got to midfield (via continuing play or via the DFK) doesn't matter; the result is the same.
Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol
View Referee Gary Voshol profileAnswer provided by Referee Ben Mueller We restart with a dfk from the location where the striking occurred. Also, both AR's need to mirror each other to get referees attention quicker. On a VC, I would expect that AR to be screaming to get the referees attention.
Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller
View Referee Ben Mueller profileAnswer provided by Referee Keith Contarino You stopped play for a foul (striking an opponent). The restart is a DFK from where the action took place since the player was not inside the penalty area ans was on the field of play. The AR should have been screaming bloody murder and the other AR mirroring. You should ALWAYS tell your ARs at your pergame to get your attention however necessary if something like VC needs to be addressed.
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 15056
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|