- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 15074Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 3/29/2007RE: Travel Under 12 Ramon Janeiro of wilimington, DE usa asks...An attacker is dribbling to goal, he is inside the 18 and is ready to take a shot on goal, the defender steps in front of his leg and prevents him from taking a shot, does not play the ball, and the attacker kicks him in the back of the leg, is this a penalty, dangerous play or did the referee make the right call? The referee did not make a call. I felt it should have been a penalty shot. Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson Hi Ramon, In truth I need to see it to be sure. If a defender gets position and steps in front of an opponent that is not of itself a foul if the ball is within playing distance. There is nothing about the situation which leads me to think PIADM (playing in a dangerous manner ) or impeding both which are only INDFKs NOT PKs are in play here. It is possible an attempt to trip with a leg stuck in could be a DFK thus PK but you can not punish the defender if he was trying to play the ball that got a bit too far ahead of his opponent? It could even be a foul on your player if the referee thought so for the kick. It sort of appears the defender took one for the team and the referee felt the same! Cheers
Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson
View Referee Richard Dawson profileAnswer provided by Referee Keith Contarino Don't know, wasn't there. I will say this: if contact was made, it was NOT playing in a dangerous manner which would have resulted in an IFK. If the referee believed the defender had carelessly kicked or tripped the opponent, this would have resulted in a PK. Obviously, the referee thought the contact to be incidental.
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 15074
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|