- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 15092Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 4/1/2007K of Stafford, VA US asks...This question is a follow up to question 9565 This is a follow up for a question [9565] about scoring in the box. The person asked how come some referees allow a score from inside the box and some don't. Could it be possible that sometimes the referee awarded an indirect kick and the other times it was a direct kick? With an indirect kick, the ball has to be touched by someone else before it goes over the line or it does not count. Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson ONLY the defending team kicking out will EVER have a DFK from inside the goal area (6 yards area) which is located inside the penalty area the (18 yard area)
ANY DFK for the attacking team within a goal area will always be a PK (penalty kick) spotted on the 12 yard pk spot.
IF there is an INDFK (indirect free kick) in favour of the attacking team inside a defender's goal area that ball will be spotted on the outer boundry parallel but 6 yards away from the goal line.
If there is any free kick be it a DFK or INDFK in favour of the defenders that ball can be placed ANYWHERE inside the 6 yard goal area The goal area has only one purpose now to define where a ball can be kicked on the restart if a stoppage occurs because of an infraction while the ball is inside this area or the infraction occurs inside this area!
It has no special protective magic where an opponent cannot play or participate in play of the ball only a regulatory part in determining where and how certain restarts occur! Cheers
Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson
View Referee Richard Dawson profileAnswer provided by Referee Keith Contarino Hi. I answered that question and am still unsure what the person was asking. If the ball is not in play and the referee has awarded a free kick inside the penalty area to the attacking team, it MUST be an Indirect Free kick as if it were due to a direct free kick foul the restart would be a penalty kick. If the kick is coming OUT of the penalty area, it must clear the penalty area before it is in play. I assumed the person thought some referees allowed you to kick the ball into your own net on a free kick awarded to you which is impossible. Likewise, there should be no confusion as to the type of kick as the referee should have his arm in the air indicating an Indirect free kick if that is the proper restart. Re-reading the question, I'm not even sure if the questioner was asking about a restart as the ball could be in play in that question. If ball is in play, there's no prohibition as to scoring from anywhere on the field.
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profileAnswer provided by Referee Gary Voshol The simple answer is that hockey has a "crease", soccer doesn't. However, I'm sure somewhere that some well-meaning local board decided that soccer needed one too. After all, we've already got that nice little box helpfully painted on the field - let's use it. Still, if they did this in any age group other than U-very-littles where they're playing without a goalkeeper, I would say it is a disservice to the game and players.
Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol
View Referee Gary Voshol profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 15092
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|