Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 15104

Law 11 - Offside 4/2/2007

RE: Competetive Adult

striker of Arlington, VA USA asks...

A fast break occurs from around midfield on the attacking side. As play evolves, a streaking forward (Player A) goes down the sideline nearly to the touch line (perhaps 3 yards shy of reaching the end line). At which point Player A serves the ball straight across the mouth of the goal, where a trailing player (Player B) knccks the ball into the net.

The question:

If that trailing player (Player B) started their run from an offside position as the forward (Player A) went into the corner, is offsides reset as the forward (Player A) and the ball go past Player B's position? Or does Player B remain offside because of the advantage he gained in getting behind the defense earlier in the run?

We had a heated debate afterwards with the other team, as they believed that the ball re-established onsides for Player B, and as the ball carrier had ran past the offside player with the ball that it had effectively re-established Player B's onside position. They felt it was "impossible" to be offsides if the ball is served in from practically the end line.

The call that was made, was Offsides by the AR on the side of the field where the ball was served from. Needless to say, the other team was not pleased.

Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller

All that matters is where was player B at moment his teammate last touched ball. If he was in an offside position, then he is guilty of being offside. Offside position does not reset until ball touches another teammate or a defender controls the ball.



Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller

View Referee Ben Mueller profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Trying to follow the logic here
player A carries ball deep towards corner of the oposing goal line
player A passes the ball into the middle
Player B scores goal
Problem
AR declares player B is offside.
Result no goal INDFK out?
You think you were robbed?

Question where was player B when player A passes?
If player A had the ball at 3 yards from the opposing goalline then player B must be closer than 3 yards and no two opponents inbetween him and that goal line.
You claim that player B was TRAILING player A behind the ball when pass was made (that pass counts as a ball last touched by a teammate) from that statement if true, it is impossible to be offside positioned as the ball is closer to the oposing goalline then player B when player A last touches the ball (the pass)
The statement "as the ball carrier had ran past the offside player with the ball that it had effectively re-established Player B's onside position." is marginally accurate, once the BALL was touched by player A after the ball passed player B then offside is reset for B as he is no longer in an offside position!



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Debbie Hoelscher

This nearly requires a white board and colorful marking pens.... I guess the simply answer is: where exactly was player B at the precise and exact moment that his teammate -- player A(?) touched or played the ball. If Player B was in the onside position at that moment, then there can be no offside infringment. If Player B was in the offside position at that moment, and then either interfered with the play, interfered with his opponent or gained an advantage from that offside position, then there is an offside infringment and the AR should and must signal such.



Read other questions answered by Referee Debbie Hoelscher

View Referee Debbie Hoelscher profile

Answer provided by Referee Steve Montanino

All of my colleagues are correct. But here is my take, just based loosely off your description of the scenario and what I thought you meant by it... Once player A goes past player B with the ball, player B may still have been in an offside position if the ball had not been touched again by player A. But -- How do you suppose the ball was crossed? It must have come from player A, hence it was touched again. At the time of the cross it appears that you have stipulated that player B was not closer to the goal line than the ball, thus this cannot be offside.

The 2nd part of your question asks if player B gained an advantage by being in the offside position earlier even though they had the ball played to them while they were in the onside position. The answer is no. A player is only considered to be gaining an advantage if...
A. they are in an offside position at the time the ball was played, then
B. they receive the ball directly as a result of a rebound from the goalpost, cross bar, or goalkeeper.



Read other questions answered by Referee Steve Montanino

View Referee Steve Montanino profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

Striker: first please get the phrase "gaining an advantage by being in the offside position" erased from your mind. This phrase has caused so much confusion that FIFA and US Soccer have defined it to exist in only very limited occurances. Second, offside is ONLY judges when the ball is played or touched by a teammate. Player B can be closer to the opponent's goal than both the ball and the next to last opponent throughout player A's run but the only meaningful time is when player A passed the ball. If at that instance Player B was onside then it;s a goal. If he's offside at the moment the ball is passed, no goal. It is indeed almost impossible for Player B to be in offside position if the ball is struck by Player A at the end line. Discussion should not be heated as this is a simple situation. Doesn't matter one iota what occurs prior to Player A's pass to Player B



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 15104
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>