Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 15109

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 4/2/2007

RE: U11 Boys challenge Under 12

Allen Walker of Hamptonville, NC Yadkin asks...

In our game, my team was driving down the field with the ball. the opposing keeper came out of the box on the right hand side and kicked the ball back into the box. He picked it up before my player could get to it. He was clearly out of the box when this occurred. The referee awarded a goal kick. This changed the entire momentum of the game. Is the keeper allowed to come out of the box and kick the ball back into the box to pick it up? The refs were not in agreement over this. Can you clear this up?
Thanks!

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

You state the keeper receives the ball from one of your guys, not his.

The goalkeeper is permitted to use his hands inside his own penalty area UNLESS he gets the ball from a deliberate kick by a team mate, has released the ball from his hands and it has not touched another player, he gets the ball directly from one of his team mates or he has handles the ball for six seconds.

None of those restrictions has happened, right? So, the goalkeeper is permitted to handle the ball within his own penalty area UNTIL he releases it from his hands and it has not touched another player or six seconds has elapsed. AND it matters not where the keeper is when he handles the ball [that is] within his own penalty area.

Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

Are you sure it was a goal kick? Did the referee stop play (whistle) and then have the ball placed on the ground in the goal area to restart? A goal kick is only given when the attacking team kicks the ball over the goal line, unless a goal was scored.

Or are you thinking of the goalkeeper kicking (punting or drop kicking) the ball? That's just a normal part of play, not a restart, and it isn't given a special name in the Laws. As Ref Fleischer has stated, when the keeper got the ball last touched by an opponent, the keeper is free to handle the ball when it is inside the penalty area.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Allen,
NOTHING in law states a keeper cannot go outside his own area to get to the ball and by legal manipulation (ie no use of hands)retrive the ball back into his own penalty area where in law he CAN use his hands except if the four restrictions in LAW 12 are in effect.

What we often see or hear as the PASS BACK! refers primarily to one of those four restrictions which were included to prevent a keeper from using up time.
An indirect free kick is awarded to the opposing team if a goalkeeper, inside his own penalty area, commits the following offence:
-touches the ball with his hands after it has been deliberately kicked to him by a team-mate.

I admit there was a thought the keeper was passing the ball to himself where he COULD use his hands from a point where he COULD not was somehow an end around the pass back rule, it is perfectly legal!

My colleague stated the 4 criteria by which a keeper is restricted so I will not bother to repeat them but will point out if your team last touched the ball before the keeper became involved no restriction could be in effect.

I am puzzled at two statements though

The first
"He picked it up before my player could get to it. He was clearly out of the box when this occurred." If this meant the keeper used his hands on the ball OUTSIDE his PA then it is a DFK from that point same as any player. If he kicked the ball back into his area then picked it up is fine but totally confused by why as refered in the second

The second
"The referee awarded a goal kick."
What has this restart got to do with your situation? Because I see no reason for the referee to do anything except continue play?
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 15109
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>