- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 15129Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 4/6/2007RE: Select Under 17 Greg Allen of Natick, MA USA asks...Just for clarification because i am going to start refereeing soon, when the GK handles the ball outside the penalty area, it is the same as deliberate handling, so the correct restart is a DFK, right? I just want the rules to be perfectly clear. Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller Yes, dfk restart. Just as any other player would have deliberatly handled the ball.
Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller
View Referee Ben Mueller profileAnswer provided by Referee Steve Montanino The moment the goalkeeper's hands and arms cross outside the penalty area, they are treated the same as every other outfield player's hands and arms.
To be more clear... if the ball is touching any portion of the penalty area the keeper may handle it, if it is completly outside of the area the keeper may not handle it.
So yes, you are correct sir.
Read other questions answered by Referee Steve Montanino
View Referee Steve Montanino profileAnswer provided by Referee Richard Dawson HI Greg, The laws of the game are relatively straight forward but somehow we see them topsy turvy far too often.
Well done, a DFK (direct free kick) is spot on for a handles the ball deliberately by a keeper when the BALL is completely outside his own penalty area.
Just remember it is the location of the ball and NOT The keeper that determines where or if a DELIBERATE handling infraction occurs.
Once outside his own Penalty Area the keeper is but one of 11 team players and subject to the same discipline as all the rest including being cautioned for USB show a yellow card or sent off for DOGSO show a red card by deliberately handling the ball
A keeper can NEVER be quilty of a PK for a deliberate handling of the ball at worst an INDFK for failing to abide by the four restrictions as mentioned in law 12 where a keeper is punished for the use of hands on the ball INSIDE his own penalty area.
On the punt out during active play we generally cut the keeper a bit of slack if the ball is marginally or close to being outside the boundry lines on the release of the ball into play and warn if it looks ugly BUT if you were to punish this act of carrying the ball outside the PA boundry lines as it was too often or too obvious remember the spot of the infraction places the ball a hair outside the boundry line not yards or feet away where it might have been released!
The spot of the infraction is where the restart occurs and the ball must be spotted OUTSIDE the PA boundrylines not on or touching it! Cheers
Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson
View Referee Richard Dawson profileAnswer provided by Referee Keith Contarino Hi Greg. I don't mean to pick at you but I hope you're a U17 player and not going to ref a U17 game right off the bat
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 15129
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|