Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 15136

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 4/8/2007

RE: High School

Walter F Lee of Trinidad, Colorado USA asks...

Can the Keeper come out of the eighteen yard box and dribble the ball back into the box then pick it up?

Answer provided by Referee Steve Montanino

The answer depends on how the goalkeeper came to receive the ball. If the ball came to him after being deliberately passed back to him by his teammate, from the teammate's foot or directly from a teammates throw-in, then no he cannot.

He also could not have had the ball in his hands and released the ball into play only to pick it up a second time without it touching another player.

If it came to him in any other way then yes, he may do this.



Read other questions answered by Referee Steve Montanino

View Referee Steve Montanino profile

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

Walter, it is far better to memorize when the goalkeeper may NOT handle the ball. In all but those instances he is within the Law if the ball is inside his own penalty area.

Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Debbie Hoelscher

It depends. Did the ball come in directly from a throw in by his own teammate? Did his teammate deliberate kick the ball to an area that his keeper could then retrieve it (aka: deliberately passing by kick to the goal keeper)? If yes, then no, the goal keeper may not play the ball with his hands. He can play the ball with his feet and take it anywhere he wants. He just cannot pick it up--regardless of where he is.

Or was this ball played forward or thrown in by an opponent and the goal keeper is collecting it directly from such play? If yes, then yes. The keeper may get the ball outside the penalty area, dribble it in, and then pick it up. He then has 6 seconds to release the ball from his possession.



Read other questions answered by Referee Debbie Hoelscher

View Referee Debbie Hoelscher profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 15136
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>