- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 15153Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 4/10/2007RE: rec mike of hartford, usa asks...is the keeper allowed to bring the ball inside the box and pick it up to punt it? also if he catches the ball from a shot is he allowed to drop it and play with or... what if he bounces it then pick it back up to punt. this has confused me for a while now Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino Hi Mike. Lots of questions! First, if the keeper collects the ball outside the penalty area from anything other than a throw-in by a teammate or a kick of the ball deliberately to him by a teammate, he may dribble the ball into his penalty area and subsequentlt handle the ball. Second, if he catches the ball and drops it to the ground, he has relinquished control and may not handle it again, Third, it is well accepted that a keeper may dribble the ball like a basketball and still be in possesssion of the ball. he must release it within six seconds.
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profileAnswer provided by Referee Ben Mueller Yes as long as it was not a deliberate kick back to him by a teammate. If he drops it, then he cannot touch it with his hands (IFK offense). Bouncing it before punting is "ok".
Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller
View Referee Ben Mueller profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 15153
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|