Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 15154

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 4/10/2007

RE: High School

Terri Fitch of Omaha, NE USA asks...

If the ball is played back to the keeper from a team mates foot, and the keeper picks it up deep inside the 18, would that be considered a hand ball and a penalty kick awarded?

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

Hi Terri. Let's keep it simple. A penalty kick can NEVER be awarded for any keeper handling violation. NEVER, EVER. Why? Because inside his own penalty area, all keeper handling violations are punished by Indirect free kicks. Outside the penalty area, the keeper is like any other player and if he deliberately handles the ball a Direct free kick will be awarded, But, never a penalty kick as penalty kicks are for violations INSIDE the penalty area. Thanks for question.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller

No. It would be an IFK if the kick was a deliberate pass to the keeper. It is not handling, but one of the IFK offenses.



Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller

View Referee Ben Mueller profile

Answer provided by Referee Nathan Lacy

I love Ref Contarino's admonition - keep it simple. Use this as a guiding principle in soccer officiating. All too many make it all too complicated with then leads to unbelievable problems. Inside the PA the keeper can NOT be guilty of handling the ball, as stated above. Also, as noted, inside the PA if the keeper is guilty of some type of violation involving their hands then it is an IFK - ALWAYS. It is only when the keeper leaves the PA that they become like any other player and handling the ball then becomes a DFK infraction but since this is now outside the PA it cannot be a PK. Keep it simple. I love that phrase. All the best,



Read other questions answered by Referee Nathan Lacy

View Referee Nathan Lacy profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 15154
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>