Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 15160

Law 11 - Offside 4/11/2007

RE: COMP High School

Ryan of Flower Mound, TX USA asks...

This question is a follow up to question 14921

FIFA Q&A says the following:

7. The ball is played to a player in an offside position by a team-mate, but a defending player touches it deliberately with his hand. What action does the referee take?

If, in the opinion of the referee, the player in the offside position
should be penalised for being involved in active play, he will penalise
the offside and restart the match with an indirect free kick.

However, if in the referee's opinion, the player should not be penalised for being involved in active play, a direct free kick, or a penalty kick, will be awarded against the player who handled the ball.

Taking that into consideration what should the referee do in this case? The ball is played to a player in an offside position by a team-mate, but a defending player fouls the attacking player deliberately after the pass was made.

It seems the same answer to the previous question would apply to this modification.

If, in the opinion of the referee, the player in the offside position
should be penalised for being involved in active play, he will penalise
the offside and restart the match with an indirect free kick.

However, if in the referee's opinion, the player should not be penalised for being involved in active play, a direct free kick, or a penalty kick, will be awarded against the player who committed the foul along with a possible misconduct.

Is this a correct interpretation?

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

You are correct because offside criteria are in effect at the moment the pass (last touch of the ball by the teammate occurs) Thus OFFSIDE involvement can occur before the handling or before the foul> However being offside positioned is in of itself NOT an offence which is why as an opinion that distinction of whether an offside infringement HAS occurred or has not YET occurred ahead of the foul is to be made.
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

The referee must understand if an offside offence is judged to have happened then play has stopped. This presents the referee with new circumstances if he must deal with other happenings involving the offside player, specifically misconduct! It is entirely possible to have misconduct, deal with it by a caution or a sending-off AND still restart indirect against the attack for offside.

Few coaches and players are going to understand this so be prepared to be verbally assaulted/abused by those ignorant of the Laws.

Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller

Well......if the player in the offside position got involved in the play at the moment his teammate touched the ball...offside. The handling the ball deliberatly occurred after the fact. If the referee feels that the offside positioned player did not get involved in play, then we have a foul for handling the ball deliberatly.



Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller

View Referee Ben Mueller profile

Answer provided by Referee Nathan Lacy

An interesting question. One point that I would like to bring in here is the aspect of the player actually getting involved in play. As I understand some of the current guidance regarding offside there is more of an inclination for the player in the offside position to actually receive the ball prior to the call being made; i.e. flag being raised. With this in mind, if the defender handles the ball before the ball has had a chance to be played by the offensive player in the offside position then it would seem appropriate to award the foul for the handling infraction, book if appropriate, and restart with the DFK. The offside POSITION is determined at the time the ball is last played by the teammate but the infraction itself does not occur until involvement takes place. Food for thought. All the best,



Read other questions answered by Referee Nathan Lacy

View Referee Nathan Lacy profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 15160
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>