Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 15182

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 4/14/2007

RE: club-competitive Under 15

bill of rsm, ca usa asks...

ball is kicked and lands 2 feet outside the 18. Goalie steps out of the 18 box kicks the ball inside the 18n and picks it up. Is this a handball?

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

Hi Bill. the foul is known as "deliberately handling the ball". So, let's look at this. the keeper is allowed to handle the ball inside his own penalty area under most circumstances. One circumstance where he CANNOT is if the ball was deliberately kicked to him by a teammate. You don't say who kicked the ball but as long as it was an opponent or NOT a deliberate kick by a teammate, then the keeper may dribble the ball into his penalty area and subsequently legally handle the ball.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Steve Montanino

Ref Contarino has got this one locked down, heed his answer.



Read other questions answered by Referee Steve Montanino

View Referee Steve Montanino profile

Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller

If the keeper had ball in hands, released it, and touched it with hands before any other player did, then it would be an IFK offense. Otherwise, this is perfectly ok provided a teammate of keeper did not kick ball to him/her deliberatly. .



Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller

View Referee Ben Mueller profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 15182
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>