Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 15183

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 4/14/2007

RE: rec Adult

alex of richmond hill, on canada asks...

I always have the impression that it is the position of the attacker that determines whether a foul should be a PK or not.

However, LOTR law 12 states "A penalty kick is awarded if any of the above ten offences is committed by a player inside his own penalty area, irrespective of the position of the ball, provided it is in play".

Sounds like the position of the offending player (is he in or out of the penalty area) is the deciding factor on whether it is a penalty kick or a DFK. For example, a defender inside his PA attempts to strike an opponent just outside the PA should be penalised with a PK.

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

No. The foul occurs where the action finally takes place. In your example, the action takes place outside the penalty area so the restart would be a dfk. The ACTION must take inside the penalty area for there to be awarded a penalty kick. For example, a player outside his penalty area takes a rock and throws it at an opponent inside the penalty area. This would result in a penalty kick.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Steve Montanino

Yeah, Ref Contarino has got it. You have to spot the ball where the fould occured. That's the only place the kick may occur from. Not where the attacker or any other player is located.

If the foul is a direct-free-kick foul that happens within an attacking team's own penalty this results in a penalty kick. Otherwise it's just a direct kick.

But the location of the foul deems where the kick should be taken.



Read other questions answered by Referee Steve Montanino

View Referee Steve Montanino profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

No alex,
my colleagues are spot on. The foul occurs where it occurs at the point of the infraction but exceptions do exisit,
Most person to person penal foul contacts are easy to see but a throwing or striking or spitting event is from where the contact COULD have occurred not from where it originates from.

11. While the ball is in play, a player standing inside his own penalty area throws an object at an opponent standing outside the penalty area.
What action does the referee take?
He stops play and sends off the player who threw the object for violent conduct. Play is restarted with a direct free kick to the opponents? team taken from the place where the offence occurred, e.g. where the object struck or would have struck the opponent.

Also note that a holding call is of a continious nature and advantage is applied
31. A defender starts holding an attacker outside the penalty area but finishes inside the penalty area. What action should the referee take?
He would award a penalty kick.

Keep in mind as well the three penal fouls of attempts

attempts to kick an opponent

attempts to trip an opponent

attempts to strike an opponent

Since there is no actual contact point you need to judge if there was where could it have occured
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Nathan Lacy

At the risk of piling on here, these answers are on the mark. It is the place where the foul OCCURS that determines whether or not it will be a PK. All the best,



Read other questions answered by Referee Nathan Lacy

View Referee Nathan Lacy profile

Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller

It is where the contact was made. If there is a trip...at the exact point on field where guilty players leg made contact with opponent. If it is for handling deliberatly, then at exact point where ball struck hand.



Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller

View Referee Ben Mueller profile

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

A defender can give up a penalty kick if all of him is outside the penalty area except the hand playing the ball. The direct free kick offence, deliberately handles the ball happened IN the penalty area. Same thing with a trip, contact outside the penalty area establishes where the foul was given, so what if he falls on the goal line it happened outside! The converse is also true, a defender inside the penalty trips the right foot of an attacker and that foot is all that remains in the penalty area. Penalty kick!

Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 15183
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>