Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 15185

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 4/15/2007

RE: Adult

craig bickley of cambridge, england asks...

Are you allowed to go into any tackle with your studs showing, wether it be bottom of the ball or over the top. Example question:
If you go for a ball and slide in with studs showing at the player and win the ball but follow through and take the man. Is this a foul.?

Answer provided by Referee Nathan Lacy

Interesting question and one that continues to be the subject of many a lively conversation. Now here's a definitely wishy-washy answer for you - it all depends. I have seen tackles that have occurred with "studs showing" but which have in NO WAY endangered a player. I have also seen what I call "ankle breakers" of tackles using the "studs up" approach. It all depends on how the tackle is executed and if the tackling player has endangered the opponent by virtue of the cleats being exposed. This becomes a matter of the ref's determination at the time of the tackle bit I do have to say that if the tackle results in the tackling player "carrying through" with the cleats and getting the player this, in my book, is going to be a foul and most likely a card. An analogy might be that just because a player is playing the ball "on the ground" doesn't mean that they are guilty of dangerous play. It all depends on the position of other players on the field, etc. However, for me, more often than not the kind of tackle you describe will probably result in my whistle being blown. All the best,



Read other questions answered by Referee Nathan Lacy

View Referee Nathan Lacy profile

Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller

Any tackle that endangers the safety of a player must be sanctioned as serious foul play. Thus if the referee feels that the tackle endangered the safety of a player, then a red card should be issued. There are lots of things that we as referees must look at here. I agree that if the tackled player carries through with cleats up and he makes contact with the player, then we have either a caution or send off in my book too.



Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller

View Referee Ben Mueller profile

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

Craig, the studs open challenge... sort of gets every one's knickers in a twist at one time or another. My thoughts, unless standing when challenging for the ball your studs are going to be open. You are in control of what they do, if you are going to constitute a danger pull out of the challenge. If you aren't going to constitute a danger continue.

NOW, the player has done what he needs to do -- time for the referee to earn his match fee! He has to position himself to see what is happening at the instant of the challenge, he must determine if what he sees is fair or foul and if foul to what degree is it foul then act according to his opinion. Sometimes his action is as little as nothing to get worried about BECAUSE the gent on the receiving end didn't seem all that bothered, it was trivial to HIM! Still the referee might consider a word to the gent offering his studs. This shows he saw, and had the same opinion as the one thinking trivial. At other times he is going to the back pocket as his whistle blows.

The referee needs to have the courage to do as necessary, nothing here to as far as off you go, mate. The off you go challenge might be the get the ball and several pounds of meat sort of thing -- clearly much more force than necessary to win the ball was evident, something called uses excessive force and that qualifies a player for an early bath.

To offer an answer Craig, it all depends.

Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 15185
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>