Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 15190

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 4/15/2007

RE: Select Under 13

Bill Kesatie of Albuquerque , New Mexico United States asks...

This weekend, a ball was kicked from the other team to our end of the field. Our keeper left the 18 yard box to get the ball. He dribbled the ball with his feet back inside the 18 yard box and then picked it up with his hands. The referee called an indirect free kick apparently believing that this constituted a "pass back" infringement because the keeper passed the ball back to himself. The rules say that the ball needs to be passed back by a teammate.

I have talked to other referees and former players and they are split as to whether the referee made the right call. Is it a penalty for a keeper to leave the box to get the ball, dribble the ball back inside the box then pick it up?

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Bill,

It is sad that less than fifty percecnt would not get this right!

If you were on the side of the referees who thought it was NOT an infringement of the LAW 12 " touches the ball with his hands after it has been deliberately kicked to him by a team-mate you would be CORRECT!

IT is NOT a penalty, it is NOT an offence, it is NOT an infringment, it is NOT a free kick, it is NOT a reason for a whistle or a stoppage.

A keeper may leave his own PA at any time to play the ball and can dribble that ball back into and out of his own penalty area as often as he wishes. If he bends down to pick the ball up with his hands while INSIDE his own penalty area the only factors that could affect his doing so are listed as the FOUR restrictions in law 12 fouls and misconduct.
Passing the ball to oneself is certainly NOT one of those four!
The ball was last touched by an opponent before it was played by the keeper no team-mate was involved, none of the restrictions apply.
While the term PASSBACK is used to inaccurately describe the infringment in this case considering there was a PASSBACK was even a greater mistake.

While disappointing I hope you kept your cool but please report the incident to the league! In fact if the incorrectly awarded INDFK resulted in a goal you could protest the match result IF the INDFK was awarded for the keeper passing the ball to himself? One can hope the referee in question is MADE aware recertification training is required.

LAW 12 Fouls and Misconduct FIFA
"An indirect free kick is awarded to the opposing team if a goalkeeper, inside his own penalty area, commits any of the following four offences:

takes more than six seconds while controlling the ball with his hands before releasing it from his possession

touches the ball again with his hands after it has been released from his possession and has not touched any other player

touches the ball with his hands after it has been deliberately kicked to him by a TEAM-MATE

touches the ball with his hands after he has received it directly from a throw-in taken by a team-mate. "
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Steve Montanino

Ref Dawson has a strangle hold on this question. The Keeper is allowed to do this provided the ball wasn't deliberately passed to him by a teammate's foot or throw to him via a throw-in.



Read other questions answered by Referee Steve Montanino

View Referee Steve Montanino profile

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

Have been talking with some of the burning bushes in US Soccer and have offered a suggestion to them on how we can stop this myth. Perhaps learning the keeper may handle every ball he gets inside his own penalty area is where we need to start! Then learn the 4 instances he is no longer entitled to use his hands.

Obviously, because of the number of questions on this subject there is a learning deficiency someplace.

Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 15190
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>