- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 15205Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 4/17/2007RE: select Other Anthony Territo of Glassport, pa USA asks...If a player from the opposing team plays the ball outside the penalty area and the keeper comes out to play the ball with his feet, can he dribble back inside the penalty box and pick it up with his hands? in not is it an indirect kick at the spot of the foul? Answer provided by Referee Debbie Hoelscher yes. there's nothing wrong with that because the ball was not deliberately kicked to him by his own teammate.
Read other questions answered by Referee Debbie Hoelscher
View Referee Debbie Hoelscher profileAnswer provided by Referee Keith Contarino yes. He can always do this from an opponent but if the ball is deliberately kicked to him by a teammate, he may not.
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profileAnswer provided by Referee Richard Dawson Hi Anthony, this question or one similar has been asked almost 50 times this last few weeks so much so that we are seriously considering sending to FIFA a rewtitten version of the laws that deal with this issue of when and under what circumstances a keeper can use his hands inside his own area. Obviously the way it currently is presented does not seem to clarify that a Keeper can use his hands ALL the time to stop or pick up the ball inside his own penalty area. No matter how that ball arived there, the ONLY EXCEPTIONS are the four stated ILLEGAL handling situations listed as INDFK restarts in law 12 which if they have not occured, they are not in effect! When a keeper uses his hands is never the issue, what occured with that ball before he does so determines if he is to be punished or play continues. Most times play continues but note the law requirements for when the hands cannot be used you will not see a pass to himself as a reason. Ask yourself, "What occurs before he takes or retakes ball possession?" Remember although possession with the hands is not the same as possession with the rest of the body ie as a dribble . His dribble or the way in which he controls the ball prior to using his hands does not forgive what happened to first get him that opportunity to play the ball initially!
In your senario the ball was last touched by an opponent thus no handling restriction other than a dfk outside of his penalty area could possibly apply. The fact he dribbled the ball back to anarea where in law he cOULD use his hands is a tactical decision and in your case perfectly legal.
An indirect free kick is awarded to the opposing team if a goalkeeper, inside his own penalty area, commits any of the following four offences:
takes more than six seconds while controlling the ball with his hands before releasing it from his possession
touches the ball again with his hands after it has been released from his possession and has not touched any other player
touches the ball with his hands after it has been deliberately kicked to him by a team-mate
touches the ball with his hands after he has received it directly from a throw-in taken by a team-mate.
Cheers
Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson
View Referee Richard Dawson profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 15205
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|