Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 15222

Law 15 - Throw In 4/19/2007

RE: Rec, Select Under 13

Mark Warner of Huntington Beach, CA USA asks...

Question is a matter of semantics on throw ins.

I know the law says "delivers the ball from behind and over his head", however we had a discussion on how does this relate to WHERE the thrower can actually 'release' the ball.

Is the thrower supposed to release the ball "behind" their head? Over? What if they bend their body down towards the field?

The question came up because a kid was releasing in front of their face and in effect throwing the ball into the ground causing it bounce up. As a ref, every other part of the throw in was technically correct.

Thoughts?

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

As a US referee you should refere to Advice To Referees On The Laws Of The Game. You may downlaod a copy for free from the US Soccer website. Section 15.3 deals with this. Basically, what you describe is a "spike" and not allowed at least here in the US. The ball must be thrown in a natural throwing movement. Please note 1. Most violations of Law 15 are trifling and 2. There is no prohibition against spin on the ball.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

Here is the particular quote:

A throw-in directed straight downward (often referred to as a "spike") has traditionally been regarded as not correctly performed; if, in the opinion of the referee such a throw-in was incorrectly performed, the restart should be awarded to the opposing team. There is no requirement in Law 15 prohibiting spin or rotational movement. Referees must judge the correctness of the throw-in solely on the basis of Law 15.

Please note the term "traditionally been regarded" in the quoted material. This is a US Soccer tradition and in other climes and places the referee just looks at the throw as pathetically short, given all other parameters correct and lets things go. Me too, and I'm in the USA...

Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Steve Montanino

Spiking is OK in volleyball, not on throw-ins.



Read other questions answered by Referee Steve Montanino

View Referee Steve Montanino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 15222
Read other Q & A regarding Law 15 - Throw In

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>