- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 15240Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 4/22/2007RE: rec Under 11 J. Corcoran of Tarrytown , New York USA asks...If a defensive player has a ball unintentionally hit off of his body and the goalkeeper then picks it up, is this a foul and if so what is the correct call by the referee? I was substituting for the absent regular referee today and this ocurred. thank you in advance. Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson Hi J Corcoran, nothing about the situation you describe is in anyway a foul.
Note the law exert below where an infringment is possible
Indirect Free Kick An indirect free kick is awarded to the opposing team if a goalkeeper, inside his own penalty area: touches the ball with his hands after it has been deliberately kicked to him by a team-mate
If a defender had the ball deflected off his foot it does not fit the above deliberate criteria of a kick to the keeper if the referee is of that opinion.
It is not ever illegal for a defender to pass the ball towards his keeper and the keeper is not prevented from using his hands inside his PA off a team-mats pass unless that ball was deliberately kicked by the team-mate to the keeper or from a direct throw in by his team-mate. Any pass other than a deliberate foot kick of the ball is not restricted and the keeper can use his hands per normal. Cheers
Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson
View Referee Richard Dawson profileAnswer provided by Referee Ben Mueller No. Only way is if keeper handles a ball deliberatly kicked to him by a teammate.
Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller
View Referee Ben Mueller profileAnswer provided by Referee Keith Contarino Hi Coach and kudos to you for asking. The infraction you refer to is the keeper handling the ball after it has been DELIBERATELY KICKED to him by a teammate. If the foot is not involved, no infraction. If the foot is involved and not deliberate, no infraction.
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profileAnswer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer There is no infringement if any player intentionally lets the ball hit his body and the goalkeeper uses his hands.
Regards,
Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer
View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 15240
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|