Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 15245

Law 11 - Offside 4/23/2007

RE: Select Under 14

Cameron S. of Buffalo Grove, IL USA asks...

I was A/R for a U13 game yesterday. I signaled Offside during a throw-in play that was within 20 feet of me. Attacking player-1 threw-in the ball to a Attacking player-2 who chest-passed the ball to Attacking player-3's foot. Attacking player-3 was in an offside position when Attacking player-2 touched the ball.

The center referee (whom I respect) blew the whistle, then under pressure from the attacking coach decided that there was no offense, and proceeded with a dropped-ball restart.

After the game the Center explained to me that the ball "must be played by the foot" for the offside rule to be "turned back on". I believe that this is a bad interpretation of Law 11.

I have reviewed your page http://asktheref.com/Soccer/Referee/Articles/6/ and http://www.fifa.com/en/laws/Laws11_01.htm

For me to be an effective A/R, I need a definitive rule of when the Offside Rule is "turned back on" after a throw-in or corner-kick or goal-kick.

Many Thanks.
Cameron

Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller

Your referee was wrong! No offside directly from a throw, but once the ball touches the second teammate, offside is not reset regardless of what part of the body the ball touched.



Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller

View Referee Ben Mueller profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

Law 11 mentions touched by a teammate, not touched by any particular part of a teammate. Please inform your mistaken colleague, and if he persists in his opinion get someone in the State Instruction office to dissuade him.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

Cameron, once the ball touches or is touched by the throwing team offside becomes a consideration. Right you are!!

Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Nathan Lacy

You were correct. Pass it on to your colleague. All the best,



Read other questions answered by Referee Nathan Lacy

View Referee Nathan Lacy profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 15245
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>