- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 15279Law 11 - Offside 4/25/2007RE: Rec Adult Debby Rudy of Dayton, Oh asks...Offsides:
I generally understand the offside rule, but this situation came up that I am unsure about.
A player on team A has the ball. Team B tries to clear it but defects off another team B member to a player on team A who is in the offsides position at the time the ball was kicked by team B. In other words, the ball was not kick to the player in the offside position by a player on the same team but by the other team.
Should the team A player be called for offsides?
It has been called both ways and it would determine if it was a goal either cases.
Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol A player on team A is liable if he is in an offside postition at the time one of his teammates last plays or touches the ball. If the ball caroms off one or more of the B team in between, A is still liable.
However, if someone from B has control of the ball and muffs it up, and the ball goes back to A, that's not offside. That's just a gift.
Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol
View Referee Gary Voshol profileAnswer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer The reason it's called both ways is because some referees are stupid about offside. We're trying to correct that and we're are close to the bottom of the mountain of ignorance concerning offside.
Offside position, team mate touch, can't get involved is the simple answer. It is the hard answer too. In your scenario there is no team mate touch after the kick by the defender.
Regards,
Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer
View Referee Chuck Fleischer profileAnswer provided by Referee Keith Contarino Hi Debby. If this obvious no offside call is being called offside, then the referees in question understand Law 11 less than you do. It is absolutely inexcusable that the training referees receive is so poor that we even get questions like this. Of course there is no offside here. Offside is only judged when the ball is last touched or played by a TEAMMATE. Any referee at any grade should know this. Unfortunately, training recertification and mentoring is horrible in some areas of the country. YOU learn offside and let the others make mistakes
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 15279
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...See Question: 15298
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|