Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 15281

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 4/25/2007

RE: Competitive Under 13

Aubrey Waddell of Maryville, TN USA asks...

I recently refereed a U10 boys competitive tournament game. A player broke through the defense, dribbled close to the goal, and shot at the goal. The keeper dove to his right and stopped the ball, clearly holding his outstretched right hand over the top of the ball with the ball stationary. Less than a second later, the player who made the shot kicked the ball out from under the keeper's hand and into the goal. I blew my whistle and ruled that the keeper had had possession. I am sure that is the right call (the shooter's coach even complimented me on the call after the game), but right after I made the call I realized I was unclear on the proper re-start. I did not call a foul, as the shooter did not contact the keeper in any way, he only contacted the stationary ball. So, I cleared the penalty area of opposing players and gave a drop ball to the keeper. Was this the appropriate re-start, or should I have called a foul and awarded a direct free kick? Would citing the shooter for interfering with the keeper's release of the ball been appropriate here?

Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller

You did call a foul. This is listed under Law 12 and the restart is IFK.



Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller

View Referee Ben Mueller profile

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

The foul play Ref Mueller writes of is:

Playing in a dangerous manner, restart indirect

Carelessly kicks or attempts to kick, restart direct

Recklessly kicks or attempts to kick, restart direct after a caution for unsporting behavior

Kicks or attempts to kick using more force than necessary to win the ball and endangering the keeper, restart direct after a sending-off.

Those are your options.

Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

From the goalkeeper's own penalty area, it probably matters little whether the restart is a direct or indirect free kick.

In addition to the possiblilites listed by Ref Fleischer, I've seen this described as "prevents the goalkeeper from releasing the ball into play", an IFK offense. I think that's kind of disingenious, as what really happened is that the fouler forced the goalkeeper to release the ball. I much prefer to go with "kicks or attempts to kick", especially if it's serious enough that you're going to caution the perp. Note that if contact is made, it must be a DFK restart, and you are almost certainly going to be looking at a card of one color or the other. If the ref doesn't address players fouling the keeper, the keeper's teammates will take the matter into their own hands (revenge).



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

personally, I like kicks or attempts to kick and award a DFK but have no problem with playing in a dangerous manner and the award of an IFK. The important thing is this simply is NOT allowed. Drop ball is not the correct restart. A dropped ball is a method of restarting the game when there is no restart given in the LOTG. You have your choice of at least 2 restarts given in LOTG as outlined by my collegues.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 15281
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>