- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 15285Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 4/26/2007RE: Rec, Select, Competive Under 19 Bart Jackson of Eagle, ID USA asks...This question is a follow up to question 15250 This seems to be splitting hairs [15250] as the keeper is not a keeper when he/she is a field player and at that point a 'colleague'. Thus it is a deliberate playing of the ball to the keeper and a deliberate attempt to usurp the laws of the game. My opinion.
Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer Bart, what you say is impossible because one player of each team is the goalkeeper, by Law.
Please don't use this analogy when talking to newer referees, spectators, moms and dads, players, coaches or their dogs. It is not correct. If you have cause to explain to newsmen or television commentators feel free to use this confusing explanation because it will tend to exponentially increase their knowledge.
Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer
View Referee Chuck Fleischer profileAnswer provided by Referee Gary Voshol The goalkeeper is the goalkeeper, and remains the goalkeeper until she is replaced with another goalkeeper. It doesn't matter which part of the field she is occupying, nor what kind of plays she is making. We give her the spiderman shirt to keep her separate from the rest of the players on her team, so we always know who the goalkeeper is.
The goalkeeper is prohibited from using her hands when the ball has been deliberately kicked to her by a teammate. Since no one is one's own teammate - not even Sybil was capable of being two people at the same time - the act of dribbling a ball into the penalty area and then picking it up is not prohibited. Unless the ball was deliberately kicked to her by a teammate - a real one - prior to her dribbling the ball.
Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol
View Referee Gary Voshol profileAnswer provided by Referee Keith Contarino Bart. no. The keeper is the keeper is the keeper no matter where on the field he is!!! Playing the ball to the keeper is fine. No usurping of the Laws. The keeper simply may NOT handle the ball if played to him deliberately by a teammate with the foot. You are trying way too hard to read into something that simply isn't there.
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 15285
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|