- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 15292Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 4/26/2007RE: Adult William Koss of Sterling, VA USA asks...This question is a follow up to question 15267 Richard Dawson's response is quite helpful. If the keeper has contact with the ball he should not be contacted, but if the contact is unavoidable or if the keeper subsequently fouls the striker even while in control is at the root of my question. Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino If the keeper has control and subsequently fouls an opponent it's a foul. I guess I don't see what you're getting at.
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profileAnswer provided by Referee Gary Voshol The referee has the task to decide who is at fault, if anyone, when there is contact. Not all contact is a foul, whether the players involved include the goalkeeper or not. Keepers certainly can foul their opponents, sometimes even while holding the ball. We get paid the big bucks because we have the difficult decisions to make out there.
Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol
View Referee Gary Voshol profileAnswer provided by Referee Richard Dawson There will be times when the striker will try and kick the ball just as the keeper grabs it. Or the momentum and direction within the challenge will cause the player/keeper to collide these could be considered accidental and may not be a foul by either party. If the keeper has ball control the striker must make an effort to avoid him IF possible. If a keeper say uses the ball to push the striker away or puts a shoulder down and needlessly continues his run into the striker or the striker needlessly continues his run into the keeper these actions are a foul. A referee must decide if contact was unavoidable or simply careless reckless or excessive. Any contact judged to be a foul be it a charge, push, trip, strike or whatever is based on the actions of the player whether he has the ball or not. A keeper jumps up and grabs a ball raising a knee into the chest of the striker who was trying to head the ball. In my opinion keeper had ball but fouled the opponent If a striker has ball possession and keeper tries to reach around the legs and grabs the ball so the striker steps on his hand it could be accidental or it could be a foul one would need to see it to have a decent opinion. The main point here ball possession or not you are responsible for your actions! Cheers
Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson
View Referee Richard Dawson profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 15292
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|