Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 15297

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 4/26/2007

RE: Under 17

john williamson of hobart, tasmania australia asks...

a goalie touches the ball outside the penalty box - what should the referee call?

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

If the goalkeeper deliberately handles the ball, that's what the ref should call. Restart is a direct free kick.

If the touch is with a body part other than the hands/arms, or if the touch by the hands/arms is not deliberate, then the ref should call nothing and let play continue.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Steve Montanino

HANDBALL.... NOT!

He should punish the goalkeeper for deliberately handling the ball. Give a direct free kick to the opposing side where the goalkeeper touched the ball.

Of course, if the handling wasn't deliberate then there isn't a foul.



Read other questions answered by Referee Steve Montanino

View Referee Steve Montanino profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

Well depends on what he touches the ball with and the circumstances. He may touch the ball deliberately with any part of his anatomy other than the hand(arm) outside his penalty area. If he accidently carries the ball over the edge of his penalty area in his hand, probably trifling and no foul. If the ball plays off his hand outside the penalty area and he does not redirect it, no foul. If he deliberately handles the ball outside his penalty area and it is not seen as trifling by the referee, it is a penal foul and punishable by a direct free kick for the opponents.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller

If the keeper just touches it, nothing. If the keeper handles it deliberatly, then it is a dfk.



Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller

View Referee Ben Mueller profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 15297
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>