Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 15307

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 4/28/2007

RE: Select College

Bryan Grant of San Anselmo, CA USA asks...

Hi, I have two questions regarding the goal keeper.

1.) I'm aware that it is a foul for a goal keeper to handle the ball outside of the penalty area with his hands, even if his feet are in the penalty area. However, in explaining this to a player who questioned my decision, I was unable to provide an exact clause in the Laws of the Game which forbides the goalie from holding the ball in air outside the box while his feet are in the box. Any suggestions?

2.) It's a common occurance for the goal keeper to jump to grab a ball in the air. Many times, the keeper will drive his knee up to gain extra height, or to possible fend off other players. I generally let the knee slide, as long as it doesn't look like the keeper is aiming to drive his knee into the other player. Is this the right call?

Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller

1. Well...the foul occurs when the ball makes contact with hand outside penalty area IF IT WAS HANDLING THE BALL DELIBERATLY. The lines define their boundaries according to Law 1. Law 12 tells us that handling delineratly does not apply to keeper if he is in own penalty area.

2. You could call the keeper for a dangerous play if you feel his actions are endangering the safety of another player. Coming up with a knee if a player is nearby is certainly doing that. IFK in my game.



Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller

View Referee Ben Mueller profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

Bryan 1. Law 12 Direct Free Kick handles the ball deliberately (except for the goalkeeper within his own penalty area) If the ball is outside the penalty area, then, by definition, the keeper is no longer handling the ball inside his own penalty area. 2. You don't have to explain your decision to any player. 3. In EVERY instance of fouls involving the ball, it's where the BALL is. 4. You ALLOW a keeper to raise his leg while going for a ball??? Please tell me that this was covered in your certification course. If not, someone's not doing their job. It is a MYTH developed by coaches and keepers that this is a legal tactic. It is NOT. AT the least it's playing in a dangerous manner if an opponent is put off whether the knee is aimed at the opponent or not or whether or not there is any contact. If there is contact you have your choice of kicks or jumped at. First time a keeper does this you AT LEAST tell him no more of that!



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

I'll address part 2. The goalkeeper does not drive his knee up to gain height. He does this because someone not familiar with Newton"s Third Law has told him to do it. This action is sometimes used to intimidate, "protect" or fend off an opponent. It is usually foul play.

Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

Regarding the first question, Law 12 says, "handles the ball deliberately (except for the goalkeeper within his own penalty area)". Too many people have misinterpreted that parenthetical exception, thinking it means "when the goalkeeper is in his own penalty area." It really means, "when the ball is in his own penalty area." It is the position of the ball, not the players, that counts. This is simply a continuation of the same principle that applies in many other situations. For example, when the ball goes over the touchline, we have a throw-in, but it doesn't matter whether the player dribbling that ball is in or out.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 15307
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>