Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 15313

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 4/28/2007

RE: Rec Under 16

Mark Sherwood of Osoyoos, British Columbia Canada asks...

In a recent game that I played, there was an incident in which the opposing goaltender knocked a player down in the 18 yard box. EH was issued a yellow card and a penalty kick was awarded. I thought that if you (the defender) were issued a caution in the 18 yard box it would be an indirect free kick for the attacking team (my team). Is it an indirect free kick or a penalty shot when the defender is issued a yellow card inside the 18 yard box?

Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller

No. Depends what the caution is for. If for a foul that is reckless (unsporting), then restart would be a PK as it was a foul that would result in a dfk inside the penalty area.



Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller

View Referee Ben Mueller profile

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

The referee stopped play for a direct free kick offence, probably charging or jumping. Both of these offences result in a penalty kick if committed inside the foul player's own penalty area. They are two of the six direct free kick offences that may be adjudged careless reckless or using excessive force. Because there was a caution included in the referee's action one may assume the act was reckless.

Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

Mark. WHen you stop play JUST to issue a caution, the restart is an IFK. That's not what happened here. The referee stopped play for a foul. The foul was committed recklessly so a caution was also issued.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 15313
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>