- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 15323Law 14 - Penalty kick 4/30/2007RE: High School Under 16 Arthur Matheson of Toronto, ON Canada asks...My team was awarded a penalty shot in the 1st half. One of my players, not the shooter, moved before the shot. We scored, but the ref called an infraction, it did not count, and we did not get a re-kick. Have the rules changed or smoething? Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol Yes, the rules have changed, prior to last year's World Cup qualifications. Unfortunately your ref committed the same mistake that the ref did in the Uzbekistan/Bahrain game. The restart for a teammate of the kicker infringing the Laws during the taking of a penalty kick is an IFK to the opposing side - unless the ball went in the goal. In that case, it's a retake. The UZB/BAH game had to be replayed because of this error, because of the protest of UZB. Unfortunately UZB lost the rematch, they had won the first game, they should never have protested it but they wanted a higher goal differential!
Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol
View Referee Gary Voshol profileAnswer provided by Referee Steve Montanino Well it depends on how your player moved. If he entered the penalty area prior to the kick then he did commit the infraction. If this occurred and your team scored a goal then the kick should be retaken. It sounds like a mistake was made here, though we would need complete clarification to be sure.
Read other questions answered by Referee Steve Montanino
View Referee Steve Montanino profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 15323
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - Penalty kick
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|