- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 15330Law 13 - Free Kicks 4/30/2007RE: Select Under 19 George of Charlotte Area, NC USA asks...Recently, in a high intensity U18 boys match, one team elected for a quick restart after receiving a freekick. The attacker put the ball down, kicked it, and the defender that was standing next to him stuck his foot out and blocked it. (They were less than 1 yard apart) The referee didn't say/do anything when that happened, play went on normally. (Well, except for the attacker's coach and captain being a little upset that the defender wasn't cautioned).
This entire scenario has always been touchy for me, for the following reasons:
1) The LoTG stipulate that the defenders shall retire ten yards during the taking of the free kick.
2) The team that elects to take a quick restart shouldn't be penalized by a defender stopping the free kick (Law 18, as well as found in the Advice to Referees on the Laws of the Game)
3) As explained to me by the higher level referee that was the center in this match (Grade 06 , since the team decided to take a quick restart, they 'lose' their right to 10 yards, and the fact that he kicked it with a defender standing next to him was his 'own fault'.
I'm not quite sure how I feel about this scenario as a Referee. Should anything have been done? What would you do in this instance? Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller The referee should have allowed a rekick and cautioned the defender for failing to respect requiered distance. 1. Players must retire the 10 yds right away and if not, they can be cautioned. 2. If the team takes the quick kick and the defenders rush towards ball as in this case, redo the kick and caution. If the defenders are still retreating and did not make an effort to block ball. ... play on.
Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller
View Referee Ben Mueller profileAnswer provided by Referee Gary Voshol If the quick kick was mistakenly shot directly at the close-in opponent, too bad when it hits him. The kicker shouldn't have tried a quick kick in that instance.
But you said the player within 10 yards stuck out his foot to intercept the kick. He certainly has interfered with the opponent's free kick, and should be cautioned for failure to respect the 10-yard distance. The free kick would be retaken. While the kicker didn't give him enough time to retreat the full 10 yards, the defender took advantage of his closeness to the ball with a deliberate action to play it.
Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol
View Referee Gary Voshol profileAnswer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer A referee, grade 6, in US Soccer said that a team awarded a free kick and taking that free kick when opponents are within the required distance and one of them makes a play for the ball forfeits their free kick. So sorry. His attention should be drawn to Advice to referees 13.4 Enforcing the Required Distance.
This says in part: An attacking team which chooses to take a free kick with an opponent closer than the minimum distance may not thereafter claim infringement if the distance requirement, even if the ball is kicked to the infringing opponent, who thereby is able to control the ball without moving toward it.
Surely the defender in sticking out his foot has move toward the ball! In this case the referee intervenes by stopping the supposed restart, cautioning and showing the yellow card to the defender for failing to respect the required distance [USB in the USA] and allowing the restart of play after all opponents have retired the proper distance. This is basic stuff and for a Grade 6 referee to say anything else is unforgivable.
Regards,
Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer
View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 15330
Read other Q & A regarding Law 13 - Free Kicks The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...See Question: 15423
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|