Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 15357

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 5/2/2007

Dan of , Kasas USA asks...

This question is a follow up to question 15328

In a follow up to question 15328. Weather this is a foul of handling or not depends completely on where the ball left the keepers hand. As long as the keeper released the ball from his hand(s) while the ball was still in the PA, it matters not where the keeper actually kicked the ball. Just becuase the keeper and the ball are out of the area when it is actually kicked does not mean it is a foul. The question is unclear as to when the ball was released from the keepers hands.

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Dan,
good spot
I agree 100% the ball must be in contact with the hands completely outside the penalty area! It is as you point out quite possible to toss the ball before stepping outside the PA to punt the ball and both keeper and ball are outside the boundry.
I did infer although the question was worded a bit wonky the questioner wanted to know if the keeper was quilty of handles the ball deliberately a DFK offence and the spot of the infraction for carrying the ball in the hands outside is in fact just a smidge outside the boundryline so the ball is not overhaning or touching the line itself. I have seen HTBD (handles the ball deliberately) violations by the keeper restarts for this infraction some 4 yards further away from the boundry lines which is not where the infraction occurs if he carries the ball outside. I do remind that a release of the ball in a keeper's punt we tend not to be too picky unless the transgression is far too obvious ie still holding the ball at the edge of the penalty arc. Generally a warning if a bit much and the same trivial latitude applies at either end of the field ! Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

I read this to mean he handled it outside the PA but, of course, you are correct. Matters only where ball and hands were.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 15357
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>